COVID-19 Protocols & Entry Requirements

International Travel Status

In the wake of new COVID-19 cases, including the transmissible SARS-CoV-2, the Government of India has revised the International arrival travel guidelines with effect from 14th February 2022 (00.01 Hrs. IST) until further orders. Please see entry requirements section below.

Entry Requirements

All travelers should a submit complete information in the self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha portal before scheduled travel, including last 14 days travel details.  

Upload a negative COVID-19 RT-PCR report* (The test should have been conducted within 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey) or certificate of completing full primary vaccination schedule of COVID-19 vaccination**.

Travelers must also submit a declaration with respect to authenticity of the report. Travelers must also give an undertaking on the portal or to Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India, through concerned airlines before they undertake the journey that they will abide by the decision of the appropriate government authority of any post arrival requirement to undergo home/institutional quarantine/ self-health monitoring as warranted.

International travelers arriving at seaports/land ports

International travelers arriving through seaports/land ports will also have to undergo the same protocol as above, except that facility for online registration is not available for such passengers currently. Such travelers shall submit the self-declaration form to the concerned authorities of Government of India at seaports/land ports on arrival.

Before Boarding

Do’s and Don'ts shall be provided along with ticket to the travelers by the airlines/agencies concerned.

Airlines to allow boarding by only those passengers who have filled in the Self Declaration Form on the Air Suvidha portal and uploaded the negative RT-PCR test report.

At the time of boarding the flight, only travelers with no symptoms will be allowed to board after thermal screening.

All passengers shall be advised to download Aarogya Setu app on their mobile devices.

During Travel

In-flight announcement about COVID-19 including precautionary measures to be followed shall be made at airports and in flights and during transit.

In-flight crew shall ensure that COVID appropriate behavior is always followed. 

If any passenger reports symptoms of COVID-19 during flight, he/she shall be isolated as per the protocol.

On arrival 

De-boarding should be done ensuring physical distancing.

Thermal screening will be carried out in respect of all the passengers by the health officials present at the airport. The self-declaration form filled online shall be shown to the airport health staff.

Passengers found to be symptomatic during screening shall be immediately isolated and taken to medical facility as per health protocol. If tested positive, their contacts shall be identified and managed as per laid down protocol #

The following protocol post arrival shall also be followed:

 A sub-section (2% of the total passengers in the flight) shall undergo random post arrival testing at the airport on arrival. Such travelers in each flight shall be identified by the concerned airlines (preferably from different countries). They will submit the samples and shall be allowed to leave the airport. 

If such travelers are tested positive, their samples should be further sent for genomic testing at INSACOG laboratory network.

They shall be treated/isolated as per laid down standard protocol.

All travelers will self-monitor their health for next 14 days of arrival. 

If travelers under self-health monitoring, develop signs and symptoms suggestive of COVID19, they will immediately self-isolate and report to their nearest health facility or call National helpline number (1075)/ State Helpline Number.

*Children under 5 years of age are exempted from both pre- and post-arrival testing. However, if found symptomatic for COVID-19 on arrival or during home quarantine period, they shall undergo testing and treated as per laid down protocol.

** There are Countries which have agreement with India on mutual recognition of  vaccination certificates of Nationally recognized or WHO recognized vaccines. Similarly, there are Countries which presently do not have such an agreement with India, but they exempt Indian citizens fully vaccinated with Nationally recognized or WHO recognized vaccines. Based on reciprocity, the travelers from only such Countries which provide quarantine-free entry to Indians will be allowed for relaxation under Certificate of completing full primary vaccination schedule of COVID-19 vaccination. The list of such Countries is mentioned below.

This is also a dynamic list and will be updated from time to time. The travelers from such countries only are considered for allowing entry based on vaccination certificate & shall upload their fully vaccinate certificate on the Air Suvidha portal.

# Contacts of the suspect case are the co-passengers seated in the same row, 3 rows in front and 3 rows behind along with identified Cabin Crew.

List of Countries to be referred to in context of Guidelines for International arrivals

List of Countries/Regions in respect of which primary vaccination schedule completion certificate is allowed to be uploaded - as on 20th April 2022

1 Albania
2 Andorra
3 Angola
4 Antigua & Barbuda
5 Argentina
6 Armenia
7 Australia
8 Austria
9 Azerbaijan
10 Bangladesh
11 Bahrain
12 Belarus
13 Belgium
14 Brazil
15 Brunei Darussalam
16 Botswana
17 Bulgaria
18 Canada
19 Cambodia
20 Chile
21 Colombia
22 Commonwealth of Dominica
23 Costa Rica
24 Croatia
25 Cuba
26 Cyprus
27 Denmark
28 Egypt
29 El Salvador
30 Estonia
31 Eswatini
32 Finland
33 Gabon
34 Georgia
35 Grenada
36 Guatemala
37 Guyana 

38 Honduras
39 Hong Kong
40 Hungary
41 Iceland
42 Indonesia
43 Iran
44 Iraq
45 Ireland
46 Israel
47 Kazakhstan
48 Kenya
49 Kingdom of Morocco
50 Kyrgyzstan
51 Lao PDR
52 Latvia
53 Lebanon
54 Liberia
55 Liechtenstein
56 Malaysia
57 Maldives
58 Mali
59 Mauritius
60 Mexico
61 Moldova
62 Mongolia
63 Mozambique
64 Myanmar
65 Namibia
66 Nauru
67 Nepal
68 New Zealand
69 Netherlands
70 Nicaragua
71 Nigeria
72 North Macedonia
73 Oman
74 Paraguay
75 Panama
76 Peru
77 Portugal
78 Philippines

79 Qatar
80 Romania
81 St. Kitts and Nevis
82 San Marino
83 Saudi Arabia
84 Serbia
85 Seychelles
86 Sierra Leone
87 Singapore
88 Slovak Republic
89 Slovenia
90 Spain
91 Sri Lanka
92 State of Palestine
93 Suriname
94 Sweden
95 Switzerland
96 Syria
97 Thailand
98 The United Kingdom
99 Trinidad & Tobago
100 Turkey
101 UAE
102 Ukraine
103 United States of America
104 Uruguay
105 Venezuela
106 Vietnam
107 Zimbabwe


Please note: The above information has been researched with the utmost care. However, we can provide no guarantee of accuracy and the information and detail change regularly. Please always check travel restrictions both in your home country and the destination you are travelling to before you book and before travel.

Select Your Home Region